Boston, Sam the Six Year Old Spiritual Teacher and The Kingdom of Heaven

 

Sam about a year ago.  In case you need a visual for how to enter the Kingdom of Heaven
Sam about a year ago.
In case you need a visual for how to enter the Kingdom of Heaven

It feels like everything is in a huge wave of change. like I’m in a parallel universe and moving between planes. That’s Sam our grandboy. More about him later.

I made oatmeal cookies, kind of healthy with old fashioned oats and coconut sugar. They were chewy and delicious. Think I’ll brew another cup of coffee and eat another one. The chew is fairly grounding.  I know, these pictures as obnoxious as a new mother showing you her baby. I’ll go to something else.

Babies are growing about half and inch a day some days.
Babies are growing about half and inch a day some days.

20151011_095526We went to Boston on Sunday and visited the Christain Science complex there. The history of Mary Baker Eddy and the rise of a religion is really interesting. We parked in the underground parking there and attended the church service. After that the parking was free all day. The highlight of the service was the ginormous organ and the performance at the end.

I love spirituality, but religion often gets my goat! So awful boring and pretentious, an arrogance of we know more than you do, that’s why we have it so good. Come in here and be like us and you can have it too. Truth is truth, but often groups like to claim to have the right version. To me the test is always love. It’s how I test myself and my actions too. Often I need revising. I love a god who speaks and has me listening mostly.

Sam, in the above photo, is totally unschooled in religion, but since he was tiny he has been giving us lessons on praying and meditation. The other day he said that God likes short prayers, but allows long ones sometimes for angels’ benefit since after all He created them. He is six now but still goes into the lotus position to pray, and he is always silent, listening.

“I tell you the truth, uless you change and become as little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven, ” said Jesus.  I can see that from listening to Sam.

 

Leave a Reply

