Running Fast in the Slow Lane

It’s been an amazing holiday season with great needs, great gifts and wonderful celebrations. I’m learning a lot about letting things happen as they will. Amazing I could get this far in life and not know how little control I have over events and timing that are part of my life. Still, I do know that life is precious, deep, full of love and joy and that I have a part to play in celebrating that on this gorgeous planet.

I’m growing Shiitake mushrooms on the kit my daughter-in-law’s sister gave me for a Chanukah gift. Say nothing of reading Paul Stamets’ wonderful tome, “Growing Gourmet and Medicinal Mushrooms,” that were part of her gift. I’m obsessed with mushrooms and understand the author’s claim that they can save the world! Watch him here:

http://www.ted.com/talks/paul_stamets_on_6_ways_mushrooms_can_save_the_world.html

Want to try growing mushrooms at home? Here’s an article to help.

http://www.treehugger.com/files/2008/11/oyster-mushrooms-coffee.php

More fungi here later. Happy spawning.

Leave a Reply

